Contact Us

If you have any questions about E3’s media credentialing, please contact us:

Double Forte PR and Marketing

More »

News Releases

2016 Into The Pixel Jury Panel Announces Video Game Art Collection
Annual Collection Launched at E3 Expo, June 14-16 in Los Angeles

LOS ANGELES, June 7, 2016 /PRNewswire/ -- The Entertainment Software Association (ESA) and the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) today announced the official selections for the 2016 Into the Pixel (ITP, #IntoThePixel) collection.  Established in 2004, the annual ITP art exhibit honors video game artists who continue to push the interactive entertainment art form forward.  Co-produced by the ESA and AIAS, the 2015 ITP collection will be displayed during E3, the world's premier trade show for computer, video, and mobile games, from June 14-16, 2016, at the Los Angeles Convention Center.

"Into the Pixel's 2016 collection highlights not only the range of visual worlds created by video game artists, but also the impressive creativity used by those artists to weave storytelling and atmosphere into the smallest details of those worlds," said Glenn R. Phillips, curator and head of modern & contemporary collections, Getty Research Institute. "I am continually impressed by the technical skill and ingenuity of artists working across every genre of gaming, from studios big and small."

"Congratulations to all of the winning artists of the 2016 Into the Pixel collection whose contributions helped to shape such a memorable exhibit," said Martin Rae, president, Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences. "Many people say that one of their favorite parts of E3 is to take a moment amidst the craziness of the conference to enjoy the quiet of the Into the Pixel gallery exhibit. The Academy, along with the ESA, always looks forward to creating this experience for the E3 audience and attendees."     

"E3 is the home to world-class innovation and explosive entertainment. So it makes perfect sense that ITP's new collection is unveiled at E3," said Michael D. Gallagher, president and CEO of ESA, the trade association that represents the U.S. video game industry. "This art showcases the remarkable artistry of our industry's creators and is powerful reminder of the capability of our industry's artists."

This year's Into the Pixel includes key pieces selected from a variety of genres. Winners are listed below and can be found, along with images, at:






Rush Blast

A Mother's Imperative

Chris Chamberlain, Tommy Kinnerup, Esben Rasmussen

Neoglyphic Entertainment

Neoglyphic Entertainment

Edge of Nowhere

Cliff Walk

David Guertin

Oculus Studios

Insomniac Games


Corvette in Hangar

Yuriy Mazurkin, Mathias Wiese

Grey Box

YAGER Development, Six Foot

Dishonored 2


Sergei Kolesov

Bethesda Softworks

Arkane Studios


Dungeon Concept

Todd Keller, Kip Carbone

Microsoft Studios

Armature Studio, Comcept, Microsoft Studios

Guild Wars 2

Dwarven Valley

Daniel Dociu



No Man's Sky


Concept Artist: Kuldar Leement

Sony Interactive Entertainment America, LLC

Hello Games

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

Geralt and Ciri

Bartłomiej Gaweł



League of Legends

Lunar Revel

League Art Team

Riot Games

Riot Games

Song of the Deep

Merryn's Leviathan

Sing Ji


Insomniac Games

Layers of Fear

Red Riding Hood

Paweł Kot


Bloober Team

Far Cry Primal

Takkar Face

Patrick Lambert


 Ubisoft Montreal


The Satellite Chalet

Derek Brand

Adult Swim Games

Double Fine Productions


Tire Swing

Martin Sahlin, Dick Adolfsson, Henrik Söder, Mikael Kainulainen, Leif Holm

Electronic Arts

ColdWood Interactive

The 2016 ITP jurists are:

  • Bob Rafei, founder, CEO and Visual Director, Big Red Button Entertainment;
  • Glenn Phillips, Curator and Head of Modern & Contemporary Collections, Getty Research Institute;
  • Kiki Wolfkill, Halo Transmedia & Entertainment Studio Head, 343 Industries;
  • Matt Hall, Senior Concept Artist, Double Helix/Amazon;
  • Nora Dolan, Independent Curator;
  • Patricia Lanza, Director of Talent and Content, The Annenberg Space for Photography; and
  • Seth Spaulding, Senior Art Manager, Blizzard Entertainment.


SOURCE Entertainment Software Association

For further information: Debby Chen, Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences, 310-484-2556,; Dan Hewitt, Entertainment Software Association, 202-223-2400,